Just the thought of being able to hack really amuses me. I mean if you're good at it then you are a "genius". I don't know because it doesn't look easy if you ask me. It requires a lot of knowledge just to be able to get around or break through a computer system.
Sometimes people just do it as a past time. To snoop around other people's businesses, invade their privacy, but sometimes what they do is illegal. They damage software, files, web pages and other computer-based properties. We even had a debate before whether or not they should be punished. Some hackers were able to shut off on going operations on large corporations, airlines, and even hospitals. What they are doing is already as a crime. The lives of innocent people are being affected. What if there was an on going heart transplant in a given hospital and then all of a sudden the power went off? They can actually cause someone's life. That is second hand murder. They may not be the one who directly killed someone but they were the cause; the accessory for it to happen.
This so called "talent" is mostly being used to harm others which is sad because we were suppose to use whatever talents we have for good. Where is the goodness in that? I don't want to accuse all of the hackers in the world because I know that not all of them are meaning to do something bad. Lately, I have known that there is such thing as "ethical hackers". They are the ones being paid by a company to test its security system and to determine the flaws. It is awesome because they get to us their ability to help and not to harm. It just shows that it is our choice if we want to use our talent to lend a hand or to destroy. It is up to us.