I guess the title pretty much says it all. I feel like writing again. It's been a really really long time since I've written anything. My thoughts, feelings, frustrations, and etc.
I don't exactly know how to start but here it goes.
Life is good. There has been a lot of things that has happened to me and my family that I never thought would ever happen to us. I'm not going to put it on details but it was beyond anybody's imagination and I'm not exagerating. But so far life is still good. We're still holding on to our faith in God. Everything will be better in time. I'm sure of that.
I learned a lot of things from those trials and experiences. Yes, tears were shed, relationships strained, and hurtful words were said but there were also lessons to be learned.
All I can say is that I have grown so much in just a year. I'm a lot stronger now. I don't easily get hurt and no longer a cry baby. Yey me! I know when to toughen up and when to show a softer side of me. In short, I know when to fight.
But there's something that I want to share to whom ever is reading this blog. If there's any. It's that not everybody whom you call "friends" or even "relatives" will be there for you when you're down. When you're in a major dipshit, that's when you'll get to know the true colors of the people around you. You'll even be surprised to know how many of them will turn their backs on you and how some will stay.That's why I'm somehow thankful that my family and I went through this. It's because we found out who truly loves us, who to trust, and who were real to us from the beginning. Just saying
UGH! It feels so good to let all of this out. Finally! I guess that's it for now.
Untl next time.
Reminiscing
Wednesday, May 4, 2011 @ 3:11 AM
Reading my old blogposts make feel like I have grown a lot in the past 2 years. I can definitely say that I'm a much better and stronger person now.
I HATE..
@ 2:56 AM
SUMMER! I really really do. The heat is just too much to handle. I feel so uncomfortable walking around and sweating like a pig. UGH!
La Visa Loca
Tuesday, April 12, 2011 @ 7:06 PM
The film, La Visa Loca, revolves around the main character of Jess Huson. He's a cab driver who aspires to work abroad to be a caregiver and be with his girlfriend. The only problem is that his visa always get "denied" stamp.
All the characters in the film La Visa Loca, stood out to me. They all had very different characteristics and traits that are realistic and evident in Filipinos and Foreigners here in the Philippines.
Jess is a typical Filipino. He's down to earth, caring, and he takes care of his sick father.
Johny Delgado, Jess father, relies only on his son for support but loves him so much.
Nigel Adams, a famous television host, became Jess client. He drives him around as he films his documentary about the practices of the Filipinos during the holy week. He looks down on Filipino.
Mara is Jess ex-girlfriend. She's a sweet loving mother to her only son Jason. She works at a carnival freak show as a mermaid. She only wants a better life for her and her son.
There was this one scene that really broke my heart, it was when Jess saw her mother back in the Philippines with her American husband. Jess was their cab driver when they arrived. She acts as if she's not a Filipino. She insults the people and the surroundings while they were in the cab. She didn't realize that Jess was her son up until she was about to pay him. They exchanged meaningful but heartbreaking looks. They didn't utter any word but I can see and pain in Jess eyes and the guilt and his mom's eyes. I got teary eyed in that scene.
In the film ,we can see a lot of Filipino traits and practices that even I have forgotten. Practices like the faith healers, "anting anting", Cristos, pautang, freek shows, and a lot more.
I remembered this one scene where Jess was listening to the radio and the topic is why do we use the word penis, vagina, pubic hair, and etc when there's a filipino word for it. Does it mean that we're ashamed of our own language? Do we look down on it?
That scene hit me really hard because it's true. It got me thinking why.
It also showed how majority of the Filipinos are so desperate to go abroad. To the point that character of Jess agreed to cruxify himself just for a visa. I really think that it could happen in real life. That there are Filipinos who would do whatever it takes for a better life.
Personally, I liked the film. I liked the truth, the humor, and how the it ended. I love the fact that Jess decided to stay and be with Mara and his son. How he took his father out of the nursing home and took care of him himself.
He gave more importance to his family than his dream to go abroad.
Eavesdropping
@ 6:15 AM
It was a Thursday night when my boyfriend and I decided to catch the last full show "Love and Other Drugs". After the movie, we were walking right back to the car and we can't help but overhear what these two guys have to say about the movie. They seem to be teenagers to me. Probably, around 16 or 17 years old.
They were talking about how much nudity their is in the movie. They were giggling and laughing their asses off. They even compared it to a softcore porn. They said that they weren't expecting Anne Hathaway to literally take all her clothes off in front of the camera. It seemed like they were really shocked about the sex scenes and the amount of nudity.
Their conversation pretty much revolved around the breasts of Anne Hathaway. They made a lot of comments about it that I don't want to repeat. Childish comments I must say.
Oh well, boys will be boys. What can I do? They're curious kids.
Document
Tuesday, March 15, 2011 @ 9:33 PM
For me, how I see it is that the boy and the girl in the story somehow has an "unspoken" and "unknown" feelings with each other and they might not have an idea about it or vice versa.
The story is quite hard to understand because it really doesn't say a lot. The class had many theories but nothing's seems to hit the bingo regarding what's their relationship and what's the point of the story.
For me, I'm quite convinced that they both have feelings for each other because 1) The story that she wrote on the boys computer, 2) the boy assumed that it was for him, and number 3) when their family and friends thought that they were a couple, they didn't disagree or correct them. They didn't do anything and let them be.
We're not really sure whether they are a couple or not one thing's for sure, they are close friends and very much comfortable with each other. Close enough to let the girl inside his room and use his computer even if he's not around.
Peter Pan
@ 7:08 PM
First impressions really do not last. In my case, it's already tested and proven because almost all my friends are the ones whom I thought I would never get along with.
I remember back in high school, there was this girl and her is Margareth. She's pretty, petite, and quite popular. She's nice but I don't really like her because she looks like a snob and "maarte". When she became my classmate during 2nd year high school, she started talking to me because we're groupmates and then the next thing I know we were always talking and hanging out. Long story short, she became one of my best friends. My impression about her was all wrong. She's not maarte. She really nice, humble, generous, and funny. We got along very well. We have the same taste in music, movies, clothes, and boys. She like my sister already.
I told her about my first impression and with her and how I thought that we would never get along and guess what? That's exactly what she had thought so too.